Welcome to the Royal Canadian Navy


 

The RCN in the Pacific Region

Maritime Forces Pacific

Maritime Forces Pacific (MARPAC) in Victoria, British Columbia is responsible for generating and maintaining multi-purpose, combat-capable maritime forces prepared to conduct operations in Canadian waters, and in support of national objectives anywhere in the world.

MARPAC employs about 4,000 military and 2,000 civilian personnel and spends over $500 million annually in payroll, supplies, services and construction.

Commander MARPAC is also the Commander of Joint Task Force (Pacific) with operational control over forces deployed in response to a domestic crisis.

Canadian Forces Base Esquimalt is located just west of Victoria, British Columbia and is home to the Canadian Pacific Naval Fleet.

 

The RCN in the National Capital Region

National Defence Headquarters

The Royal Canadian Navy is directed through Naval Staff Headquarters in Ottawa by the Commander of the Royal Canadian Navy whose mission is to lead the strategic development and generation of Combat Capable Multi-purpose Maritime Forces and to provide advice in support of Maritime operations. 

The RCN in the Atlantic Region

Maritime Forces Atlantic

Headquartered in downtown Halifax, N.S., Maritime Forces Atlantic is the largest formation of the Royal Canadian Navy.

It is responsible for generating and maintaining the 18 ships and submarines of the Atlantic Fleet, as well as providing routine planning, command and control, coordination, and logistical support to all Royal Canadian Navy warships and other naval assets deployed in the world on Canadian Armed Forces operations.

Maritime Forces Atlantic is home to 38 units, mainly regrouped under the five following organizations: the Maritime Forces Atlantic Headquarters; the Canadian Forces Base Halifax, including the Canadian Forces Station St. John’s; the Canadian Fleet Atlantic; and, the Fleet Maintenance Facility Cape Scott.

With approximately 10 700 trained and experienced military and civilian personnel, Maritime Forces Atlantic is one of Halifax’s largest employers. Its contribution to the regional economy approaches $520 million annually, including salaries, supplies, services and construction projects.

The Naval Reserve of the RCN

Naval Reserve Headquarters

The Naval Reserve, headquartered in Québec City, is made up of 24 Naval Reserve Divisions (of up to 150-200 personnel each) located across Canada. Its goal is also to help generate trained individuals and teams for Canadian Armed Forces operations including domestic safety operations as well as security and defence missions, while at the same time supporting the Navy's efforts in connecting with Canadians through the maintenance of a broad national presence.

The Canadian Forces Fleet School Québec (CFFS Québec) is the only school in the Royal Canadian Navy primarily oriented toward reservists. It considers trades training as its main field of activity, but is also involved in regenerative training.

You’re not alone -
Mental Health resources
for CAF members and families.

Bienvenue à la Marine royale canadienne

 


 

La MRC dans la Région du Pacifique

La Base des Forces canadiennes Esquimalt

Les Forces maritimes du Pacifique [FMAR(P)] ont pour mandat de mettre sur pied et de maintenir en puissance des forces navales polyvalentes et prêtes au combat pour mener des opérations dans les eaux canadiennes et appuyer les objectifs nationaux du Canada dans le monde entier.

Elle dépense plus de 500 millions de dollars chaque année en salaires, en fournitures diverses, en services et dans le domaine de la construction et comprend 4 200 militaires et environ 2 000 employés civils.

Le commandant des FMAR(P) est aussi le commandant de la Force opérationnelle interarmées (Pacifique). Il assume le contrôle opérationnel des forces déployées en cas de crise nationale.

Située à l’ouest de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, la Base des Forces canadiennes Esquimalt abrite la flotte canadienne du Pacifique.

La MRC dans la région de la capitale nationale

Quartier général de la Défense nationale

La Marine royale canadienne est dirigée du Quartier général de l'État-major de la Marine par le commandant de la Marine royale canadienne, dont la mission consiste à diriger le développement stratégique et la mise sur pied de forces maritimes polyvalentes et aptes au combat, et à donner des conseils en soutien des opérations maritimes.

La MRC dans la région de l’Atlantique

Forces maritime de l'Atlantique

Basé en plein centre-ville d’Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, les Forces maritimes de l’Atlantique sont la plus grande formation de la Marine royale canadienne.

Les Forces maritimes de l’Atlantique sont responsables de générer et maintenir les 18 navires et sous-marins de la Flotte de l’Atlantique ainsi que de coordonner les opérations maritimes canadiennes dans le monde sous le Commandement des opérations interarmées du Canada.

Les Forces maritimes de l’Atlantique abritent 38 unités de la MRC, principalement regroupées sous cinq organisations : le quartier général des Forces maritimes de l’Atlantique, la Base des Forces canadiennes Halifax, la station des Forces canadiennes St-John’s, la Flotte canadienne de l’Atlantique et l’installation de maintenance de la Flotte Cape Scott.

Fortes de quelque 10 700 militaires et civils hautement expérimentés, les Forces maritimes de l’Atlantique sont l’un des employeurs les plus importants à Halifax. En moyenne, la contribution des Forces maritimes de l’Atlantique à l’économie locale avoisine les 520 millions de dollars annuellement, incluant salaires, achats de fournitures diverses et services, et projets de construction.

La Réserve navale de la MRC

Quartier général de la Réserve navale

La Réserve navale, dont le quartier général est à Québec, se compose de 24 DRN (Divisions de la Réserve navale qui ont chacune de 150 à 200 membres) et qui sont dispersées dans tout le Canada.

La mission de la Réserve navale est de produire des individus et des équipes entraînés pour des opérations des FC comprenant des opérations de sécurité nationale et des missions de sécurité et de défense, tout en appuyant la Marine dans ses efforts de création de liens avec les Canadiens par le maintien d'une vaste présence nationale.

L'École navale des Forces canadiennes Québec (ÉNFC Québec) est la seule école de la Marine royale canadienne orientée principalement vers les réservistes. Ses principales activités demeurent l'entraînement des métiers, mais l'École navale s'implique aussi dans l'instruction régénérative.

Vous n’êtes pas seul -
Ressources en santé mentale
pour les membres des FAC et leur famille